Meet our Academic Board
What we do

In 2011 College’s Academic Board was reformed. The role of the Academic Board is to:

  • act as ACP’s Accreditation Committee and provide
    • advice regarding College accreditation policy and processes
    • general guidance as to the accreditation of CPD activities; and
    • expert review of CPD activities in accordance with CPD accreditation policy
  • oversee the development of the College’s academic activities in order to maintain the academic standard of all educational modules supplied by the College, ensuring currency and relevancy
  • advise ACP Board on education policy matters

Who we are

Academic Board
Professor Michael Roberts, BPharm, MSc, PhD, DSc, Dip Tert Ed, MBA, FACP

Mike Roberts is an NHMRC Senior Principal Research Fellow; Professor of Therapeutics & Pharmaceutical Science in the School of Pharmacy and Medical Sciences at the University of South Australia; and Professor of Clinical Pharmacology & Therapeutics in the School of Medicine; as well as being Director of the Therapeutics Research Centre (TRC). Mike has been a registered pharmacist since 1971 and has worked as a community pharmacy in three states of Australia and New Zealand as well as being actively involved in hospital practice.  He is also active in advice to government, being a member of the TGA Pharmaceutical Subcommittee and an APVMA Fellow in Nanoscience, as well as an adviser/speaker to the cosmetic and pharmaceutical industry. He has published more than 500 peer reviewed papers and book chapters, as well as 6 books, with a new undergraduate pharmacy 800 page text co-authored by Gordon Flynn from the University of Michigan (USA) called “Physical and Biophysical Foundations of Pharmacy Practice: Issues in Drug Delivery” to appear in August.

Mike is well known as a strong supporter of pharmacy practice, introducing community pharmacy experiential training as part of the UTas BPharm program in the 70s; pharmacy management and advanced clinical pharmacy into the NZ Otago BPharm as its Professor and Head of School in the 80s; convening UQs Master of Clinical Pharmacy in the 90s; and becoming actively involved in the Australian College of Pharmacy in the 2000s. His awards include the old FAIPM (1987), ASCEPT’s RAND Medal, APSA Medal, Fellow of the College (FACP) in 2007 and one of the invited inaugural Fellows of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences (FAHMS).

Chair - Clinical Faculty
Academic Board
Dr Treasure McGuire, PhD, BPharm, BSc, GradDipClinHospPharm, GCHEd, FACP, MPSA, MSHP 

Treasure is an experienced medicines information pharmacist, pharmacologist, educator and researcher. As Assistant Director of Pharmacy, Mater Health Services she manages an Academic Practice Unit that delivers pharmacology curricula to five health disciplines across four universities. In her academic role, she has conjoint appointments with the Faculty of Health Sciences and Medicine, Bond University (Associate Professor of Pharmacology), School of Pharmacy, University of Queensland (Senior Conjoint Lecturer), and the Mater Research Institute.

Treasure has worked in a wide range of pharmacy practice settings – adult, paediatric, reproductive health, medicines information, poisoning and pharmacovigilance – in Australia, USA and the Netherlands. She has a strong belief that skilled pharmacists play a key role in the multidisciplinary team to improve Quality Use of Medicines. She is an active member of three key pharmacy organisations that represent pharmacists in the national arena: Australian College of Pharmacy (Fellow), Pharmaceutical Society of Australia; and Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia. She also represents the profession on the Australian Pharmacy Council Examining Committee; Academic Board, Australian College of Pharmacy; Clinical Advisory Committee to the Board, Greater Metro South Brisbane Medicare Local; and Expert Panel, National Asthma Council. In recognition of her services to medicines information, she received the Lilly International Fellowship in Hospital Pharmacy and the Bowl of Hygeia of the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia.

Chair - Management Faculty
Academic Board
Mr Phill Woods BSc, BPharm, GCertSc, (PhD Candidate)

Phill is a registered pharmacist with 30 years experience in pharmacy practice and ownership in community and hospital contexts. He was a founding partner of the APHS organisation. Phill has served full-time for 11 years as a lecturer at the School of Pharmacy, Griffith University, Gold Coast campus, Queensland, Australia. He teaches ‘Pharmacy Management & Administration’ in the Master of Pharmacy Program and ‘Pharmacy Law and Practice’ in two undergraduate degree courses.

His primary research and publishing interest is in pharmacy practice and management, in particular the development of understanding of managerial capability in the Australian community pharmacy context. Phill has expertise and peer-reviewed publications which focus on qualitative methodologies. Phill is also currently developing international collaborations for the purpose of developing comparative understanding of the regulation of community pharmacy in a range of nations. 

Academic Board
Dr Geoff March, BPharm, PhD

Dr March is a teaching professional in the University of South Australia, School of Pharmacy and Medical Sciences and an active member of the Quality Use of Medicines and Pharmacy Research Centre within the Sansom Institute for Health Research. He has an extensive track record to translating policy and research findings about best practice into practical, real-world environments. His area of expertise in the teaching area is medication management and understanding the systems that surround the management of medications. Dr March is frequently included in research activity by colleagues within the University of South Australia and by researchers in other organisations to contribute his understanding of how community pharmacy operates and how practice change can be achieved. Dr March has 20 years’ experience in working in community pharmacy and over 16 years’ experience in practice change research and teaching.

Academic Board
General Manager, Australian College of Pharmacy
Jenny Bergin BPharm, MBA, FACP

Jenny is the General Manager of the Australian College of Pharmacy. She has worked in many health care settings including hospital and community pharmacy. She managed the Guild’s Quality Care Pharmacy Program and gained experience in health promotion as Director, Community and Aged Care in Southern Tasmania and President of the Community Health Association in Tasmania.

Academic Board
John Chapman B Pharm, B Com, PGDipClinHosPharm FACP (HC), FPS

John holds undergraduate degrees in Pharmacy and Commerce and a Post Graduate Diploma in Clinical & Hospital Pharmacy. He has worked in community pharmacy, in academic positions and as CEO of the Australian Institute of Pharmacy Management and the Australian College of Pharmacy. He maintains an interest in both clinical understanding, applied management in the community pharmacy setting and the provision of high quality education.

Currently, the Chair of the Faculty of Compounding is vacant.